Anne M. Boyd Award

For many years Anne M. Boyd was a distinguished and beloved member of the Faculty of the iSchool at Illinois. In her honor the Alpha Chapter of Beta Phi Mu presents an award to the one MS graduate each year who, by vote of the faculty, is judged to be outstanding.

Students, by virtue of a grade point average of 4.0 and graduation in August, October, January or May, are to be considered for nomination for the Boyd Award. Additional criteria to be considered are:

  1. Commitment to the profession of librarianship.

  2. Ability to relate to other people.

  3. Contributions to the School through participation in organizations and activities.

  4. Potential leadership qualities.

Kathryn Luther and William T. Henderson Award

The Kathryn Luther and William T Henderson Award recognizes the Hendersons’ long service to the chapter. Awardees will have a demonstrated record of service to the community (home, campus, fellow students, etc.) through professional activities. As do the Hendersons, the annual recipients will stand as exemplars of the Beta Phi Mu motto, “Consumed in the service of others.” iSchool faculty will select from master’s degree candidates and recipients will receive $500.

Beta Phi Mu Award

Donated by Beta Phi Mu International and awarded annually by the American Library Association, the Beta Phi Mu Award consists of $1000 and a 24k gold-framed citation of achievement to a library school faculty member or to an individual for distinguished service to education for librarianship.

Recipients with connections to GSLIS include:

2004 Linda Smith (MS '72), faculty member from 1980 to present
2002 Leigh Stewart Estabrook, former dean and faculty member since 1986
1999 D.W. Krummel, faculty member since 1970 and professor emeritus
1997 Charles Bunge (MS '60, PhD '67)
1993 Kathryn Luther Henderson (BS '48, MS '51), faculty member since 1965 and professor emerita
1992 Guy Garrison (PhD '60)
1991 Edward Holley (PhD '61)
1988 Samuel Rothstein (PhD '54)
1986 Agnes Lytton Reagan (MS '43, PhD '57)
1981 Haynes McMullen (MS '40)
1980 Virginia Lacy Jones (MS '38)
1976 Carolyn Whitenack (MS '56)
1975 Kenneth R. Shaffer (BS '41)
1968 Sarah R. Reed (BS '42, MS '45)

The Beta Phi Mu Award Support Fund

A new Beta Phi Mu Award Support Fund endowment: The Beta Phi Mu Award Support Fund is an endowment administered by the University of Illinois Foundation to support the Alpha Chapter of Beta Phi Mu, including the Anne M. Boyd Award and the Kathryn Luther and William T Henderson Award. It may also be used for annual project support for the School of Information Sciences, such as supporting travel for students or costs of Alternative Spring Break, with amount, use, and timing determined by the dean of the School of Information Sciences or a designee.